Testimonials

Reviewed May 2016

Though the weather did not cooperate, Lisa and George more than made up for it with their very welcoming, easygoing manner, wonderful suggestion of wineries to visit and let’s not forget the beautiful surroundings. Add to that a recent renovation and Lisa’s delicious breakfasts and you have a recipe for a relaxing and rejuvenating weekend.

JJJJ77 -

Reviewed May 2016

We had a fabulous weekend at this beautiful B&B! Lisa and George were wonderful hosts, providing everything we could possibly need. Breakfasts were wonderful and plentiful – beautifully presented and delicious. The house is modern and amazingly comfortable with clean crisp linens, fantastic beds and fluffy towels. Great location for everything on the North Fork. Can’t wait to come back!!!

https://www.tripadvisor.com/ShowUserReviews-g47565-d4291148-r378573475-Fig_and_Olive_Bed_and_Breakfast-Cutchogue_North_Fork_Long_Island_New_York.html#

Tanglewood99 -

Reviewed May 2016

I cannot put enough words down as to how much we loved this place! The owners were so friendly and helpful and the food in the morning was wonderful! I felt right at homw and my boyfriend and I have nothing but nice things to say about this place. I highly recommend this place!!

https://www.tripadvisor.com/ShowUserReviews-g47565-d4291148-r378096346-Fig_and_Olive_Bed_and_Breakfast-Cutchogue_North_Fork_Long_Island_New_York.html#

Nick A -

Reviewed September 28, 2015
Every year I go out to the North Fork during the harvest season and this time it was for my one year wedding anniversary. We were given a grand welcome upon arrival with a cheery smile. The property is incredible. We stayed on the main floor in a good size room for two with bathroom overlooking the backyard and a comfy couch.The room came equiped with a mini fridge and coffee maker. The breakfast was very tasty and unique and served at 9am. The porch was lovely to sit in the rocking chairs over looking a small vineyard and grounds of flowers and plants. There are adirondack chairs out back where you can sit in front of a live fire pit or gas one. Very cozy place only about 10 minutes from Greenport and with a beach within walking distance right off Skunk Lane. You can come and go as you please without worrying about losing the house key, everyone is given a code for easy entry. After checkout we were able to come back from paddle boarding to utilize the showers which was very kind of them. We would highly recommend and come back. It was a great experience. If you’re lucky you might see some dear visiting nearby.

Stayed September 2015, traveled as a couple

-

August 11, 2014 – My husband and I stayed at the Fig & Olive this past weekend and we have nothing but great things to say about the accommodations, food, grounds and owners! Lisa and George are so gracious and informative about the area but definitely give you your privacy at the same time. We stayed in the Wallace room which was immaculately decorated, clean and with it’s own private bathroom. Everything was so comfortable and cozy! The grounds were well kept and they even have two separate fire pits- one wood burning and one gas and provided ingredients to make s’mores!

Breakfast was provided each morning and was cooked by Lisa and was delicious and innovative. As an example we had apple stuffed French toast, bacon and yogurt with fresh fruit. Also, conveniently there is a beach about 1.5 miles down the road that Lisa and George provide passes to as well as the option of kayaks for the adventurous type!

We are so very grateful to have stumbled upon this hidden treasure and will be recommending it to family and friends without hesitation!!!

Amanda - Wallace Room

July 12, 2014 – What a wonderful surprise to find such a lovely spot just off the main road close to most of the Long Island wineries. Both George & Lisa make you feel comfortable ,balancing helpfulness with privacy ensuring a pleasant stay. We hope to return soon.

Room Tip: This I a small B&B ,each room is lovely

Ann - Wallace Room

December 8, 2014 – My husband and I spent one night at Fig and Olive B&B visiting Laurel Lake Winery where we had gotten married 12 years ago. The B&B was lovely and a little separate from the main house which we always appreciate. George checked us in and answered restaurant questions about the area. I love a stocked fridge with water and soda – so easy to do but very rare. When we came back from dinner, we ended up losing our key but George was gracious when we called his cell phone and gave us a new one immediately. Breakfast was wonderful and we were given a bottle of local wine when we left with our names written on the bottle with flourish which was a nice special treat.

The B&B is in a cooperative that does many discounts in the area. We used one of the free tastings the next day but it might have been nice if they could send that out ahead of time as we hit a place for lunch, a couple of the wineries, and bought some chocolate all on the way in (and probably could have saved over one hundred). So if you are staying there you might want to ask if you could pick it up early as it was really a great feature.

We would definitely go back – thanks Lisa and George for giving us a wonderful night away from the kids!

Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple

Patrcia - Driscoll Room

December 13, 2013 – Lisa & George could not have been better hosts! We loved their charming B&B – stylishly decorated and elegantly appointed. Lisa is an amazing cook with real talent for breakfast. The food was simply fabulous and the presentation perfect. We were three couples so we “took over” the place. Each afternnoon we returned to find some other treat from the kitchen. George and Lisa saw to our every comfort….including a personalized bottle of wine as a good-bye treat. DO NOT MISS his place.

Jeanette - Decenmber 13, 2013 -

My husband and I left the post-Labor Day hubbub of the city for a fat-tastic North Fork wine tasting and R&R weekend with our dear friends, another newlywed couple. We hemmed and hawed about the price of staying two nights and we couldn’t get into the more established Farmhouse B&B where our friends were staying. We quickly hopped online to reserve the last available room at the newer Fig & Olive B&B and it was worth every cent. The sleek photos on their website truly represent this cozy, thoughtfully laid-out and pristine property.

Location
Tucked away on Skunk Lane, just off of the main road, I was told by the owner George that it was a one-mile walk on a sidewalk from the Peconic Jitney stop. Being the type A sort, I needed to see this for myself. My petite legs took me over a mostly uneven sidewalk (but still a sidewalk) for a 15-20 minute walk to F&O passing by several of vineyards. One of the best features of the location is that you can truly have a car-free weekend as Pindar, Lenz, Rafael (closed Fri & Sat), Osprey’s Dominion and Bedell are within a 5-15 minute walk.

Room, Property & Atmosphere
We stayed in the Conway Room, the only one on the first floor where the breakfast dining room is also located. While it is certainly not soundproof, everyone else retires to the second floor, so it was extremely quiet. The room is modernized country-chic with very cozy décor. The bed is insanely comfortable. I slept so well both nights. The large ensuite bathroom has plenty of shelf space and a robust-pressured dual shower heads. The room also comes with a sofa, a fridge stocked with complimentary beverages (water, Perrier, Snapple iced teas, Coke and Diet Coke) and a Keurig machine. The front door entrance is by passcode and there are physical keys for your individual room. The vast front porch is a great place to have a coffee but the backyard has a deck seating area, a fire pit and various nooks and crannies furnished with pairs of chairs, perfect for some quiet time alone or with your significant other.

Food
The minute you walk into F&O, the fragrant smell of owner Lisa’s baking disarms you and alerts you to the fact that you are now on vacation. Breakfast both mornings came with orange juice, coffee and an individual fresh fruit salad. The first morning we were presented with French toast soufflés with fresh blueberry compote, thick cut maple bacon on skewers and a seasonal homemade pumpkin cake. The second morning we were served individual crust-less asparagus and mushroom quiches, a platter of warmed pastries and a homemade coffee cake. I prefer not to eat too much in one sitting so both mornings I asked Lisa for aluminum foil to wrap up pieces of cake and she gladly obliged. Two wineries in each morning, we’d crack open the homemade cakes with our friends and everyone would delight in the delicious treats that also functionally soaked up the multitude of tastings we had just consumed. Also during the afternoon, in the common seating area there would be bottles of water and either individually packaged biscotti or homemade goodies (we had delicious madeleine and squares).

Hospitality
While they both had different careers prior to starting the F&O B&B, the owners Lisa and George effortlessly host their guests in the most gracious and natural manner. Examples of the exceptional level of hospitality are numerous. When I called the day before, George and I had a pleasant chat on recommendations on what to do for the weekend, complete with telephone numbers. On Friday afternoon I arrived earlier than my friends and walked to nearby Bedell only to learn that despite it being peak wedding season for North Fork wineries, they advertised being open until 7:00pm and neglected to update their website or put up a sign. They were unapologetically turning people away at the driveway. Upon return to F&O, George drove me to Shinn Estates Winery so that I could enjoy their later Friday evening tasting room hours. He also kindly picked me up upon close at 8:00pm as my friends had yet to arrive. Upon departing Lisa gave us a parting gift of a wrapped bottle of wine from Pugliese Vineyards as well as some of the “muffin cups” used for the crust-less quiches as I had raved about them. Lastly, they provide you with a voucher for some discounts and free tastings at select wineries for guests of their B&B association.

Summary
We had such a memorable weekend with spectacular weather on the North Fork with our friends. We visited nine wineries, Greenport Harbor Brewing Company, Catapano Dairy and a farmer’s market. We dined at Legend’s, Noah’s and North Table & Inn. We relaxed and recharged at the Fig & Olive Bed & Breakfast and we can’t wait to come back and to enjoy another weekend at this sublime North Fork retreat.

Nancy B - Conway Room

My wife and I had a very relaxing weekend while staying at the “Fig and Olive Bed & Breakfast”. We had reserved the Conway Room on the first floor which was decorated in shades of teal, lime and white. It was a beautiful room with all the comforts of home. Breakfast in the morning was delicious and plentiful. The innkeepers, George and Lisa, made us feel welcomed and even made suggestions on how to spend our day visiting the local wineries. We highly recommend the “Fig and Olive Bed & Breakfast” to anyone who is looking to spend a fun and relaxing weekend in Long Island’s wine country. We are looking forward to our return visit.

Ira J. Krulik - Conway Room